Hope Makes You Do Crazy Things

Hope Makes You Do Crazy Things by Deolu Adeleye

By the third goal, everyone knew Liverpool had lost. Period. They all knew the trophy would go to AC Milan, and they would go home second place.

But…some crazy fools in red had an even crazier notion that Liverpool could still pull through. And these crazy fools were going to do their best, or at least go down trying…

First goal. Then second. By the third, everyone had become a crazy fool carrying the crazy thought, which eventually became a crazy moment of football victory that was the 2005 UEFA Champions League final.

Do you know how dumb babies are? You can’t underestimate it, go ahead and try….If a baby’s mind was blank, it would be even better: at least we know say we fit do copy and paste.

But it’s empty. Dead. A baby has no mind. Nothing.

How can these blank ones understand the complexities of emotions? How can they grasp the intricacies of Newtonian Physics? How can they even learn how to cook!?

Simple: They can’t. They don’t have the capabilities. They’re just walking, drooling, crying things.

Imagine if everyone had this notion. Then all the teachers in the world quit. Why waste time on unreachable entities?

But some have a crazy feeling; a nonsense thought that these ones can learn…they do have a mind – utterly empty, but a mind all the same. So what do they do? They painstakingly descend to their levels: adults start saying ‘go-goo’s’ and ‘ga-gaas’ and using sign language to communicate, hoping the babies will understand.

They do, eventually (and remarkably, I might add…)

Soon these babies are moving forward and forward, until they themselves become even better teachers.

The lesson? HOPE makes you do crazy things.

A question most pondered (sometimes wearily), by some is this: “If God knows everything, does He know everyone that will ever go to hell?

To answer this, we simply need ask Him. God Himself has declared:

I am GOD, the only God you’ve had or ever will have– incomparable, irreplaceable– From the very beginning telling you what the ending will be, All along letting you in on what is going to happen…I’ll do exactly what I set out to do,’” (Isaiah 46:9-10, The Message Version)

The answer? An emphatic yes. So God has the knowledge of every future offender (yikes!).

In 2001, America launched a ‘pre-emptive strike’ on Aghanistan. Basically, they KNEW the Taliban were going to attack them. So they defended themselves before it happened…Now, of course, America didn’t have the complete details of everything accounted for. But how about God, Who we just realised knows EVERYTHING? Shouldn’t He act that way too?

“I KNEW you were going to lie, so I cut out your tongue before you did.”

“I KNEW you were going to lust, so I made you blind at birth just to prevent it.”

“I KNOW you are going to Hell; so I’ve already taken the liberty of removing your name from My book of Life”

Well, if you think this is what goes through the mind of the Almighty, THINK AGAIN: it is absolutely FALSE. Why?

“God is love…” (1 John 4:8 CEV)

So?” you may ask. Well, let’s see what love is…

Love…quietly covers all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.” (1 Corinthians 13:7 MKJV)

Did you see that? Hidden oh so obviously in plain sight?

“…HOPES all things…”

Of all the mysteries of God, this has got to be one of the most profound: God…hopes…so His thoughts are actually:

“I KNEW you were going to lie, but I HOPED you wouldn’t.”

“I KNEW you were going to lust, but I HOPED you wouldn’t go through with it.”

“I KNOW you are going to Hell; but I wake you up every day, HOPING you will alter that decision”

God so loves you and I, that even though He knows exactly what’s best for us, He won’t force it on us – it has to be our choice to be healthy, stubborn or wise (take your pick).

I don’t know about you, but knowing God actually hopes I do good with my life actually makes me want to do it – no longer do I see Him as one thoughtless Creator; now I see Him as a very concerned Person, Who knows my screw-ups before they happen, yet loves me enough to hope I don’t make them.

He knew Judas would betray Him; yet He still called Him ‘friend’, hoping Judas wouldn’t go through with it (Matthew 26:50).

He knows the next stupid thing I’ll say, but He offers me a choice of saying something good instead.

He knows the next person I’ll probably hurt, but He still gives me a chance to not do it.

He knows when next I’ll offend Him, yet He still gives me breathe; and even forgiveness.

He knows…(fill this blank in your mind with your own testimony)

Hope makes you do crazy things…

Oh, and God does pre-empt our actions, but in a different light…

“I KNEW you were going to need care, so I gave you parents and guardians.”

“I KNEW you were going to need to relate, so I gave you the capability to love and laugh.”

“I KNEW you were going to need help; so I died for you, making a way for your help – and all this before you were born.”

And to cap off the ‘crazy-meter’: God knew there was no chance anyone would believe He would come as a man to save mankind.

But He did it anyway. Why?

When you love someone, hope makes you do crazy things…

 

© Adeleye Adeolu, 2009. All Rights Reserved. No part of this article may be reproduced, reprinted or distributed without the author’s permission.

One thought on “Hope Makes You Do Crazy Things

Thoughts?

